Posted on

Affiliate marketing and publishing ebooks

Many of us are being swept up by the “MAKE FREE MONEY ONLINE FROM HOME!” sales pitch.

I’m not going to tell you that it isn’t true. I’m not going to tell you that you can’t do it, that it can’t be done, or any such thing. Instead, I want to talk about something I just came across then you can make your own call.

In order to keep from belittling anyone I’m just going to say that I was looking into being a Creatspace affiliate. It looked promising, so I signed up through Commission Junction and they offer many platforms, not just Createspace. Anyway, in looking through it, I found many things I didn’t like and am not going to be an affiliate. Furthermore, in looking up more information, I came upon a website wherein a gentleman provided his entire Ebook (a small 11 page how to be rich online through this kind of crap marketing) on the website for free. So I read it.

He states that his other books, which are published through Createspace with paper back copies available, have made all kinds of bestseller lists then suggests that we (the site visitors) check the links to see just how well those books are doing. They are ranked low. Some of them have never been reviewed. Some of them  have upwards of 60 reviews. I went a step further and clicked the reviewer links. Amazon gave me an error so I checked my reviewers’ links for my books and they show up just fine. I don’t think his reviews are real. I think he created BS Amazon accounts to rate and review his own books.

So why am I sharing this? I’m angry. Too many of us are being mislead by this kind of crap. I want to leave you with one piece of advice. If you are interested in making money from home, being a writer, and being an affiliate marketer please, please, please, make sure to check everything before you find yourself shilling out any money at all.

Lots, maybe all, of these guys act like you can join their team, or start marketing for other companies to receive commissions, but I have only found one site that lets me get a commission absolutely free without having to pay for a promotional link or tracking services or a “one time only set up charge” etc, etc.

About Dennisauthor

Taking you by storm! www.dennisauthor.com @Dennis-Author on twitter

One response to “Affiliate marketing and publishing ebooks

  1. Oscar

    Was Urgently Looking and found this,,,,,found some new ideas…

Leave a Reply

