Posted on

Stopping by Woods

In my quest to understand poetry I found myself along a familiar path; the road taken, if you will…

My cold and dreary journey brought me to Robert Frost; I remembered him from like ENC 1102 in college.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

and miles to go before I sleep,

and miles to go before I sleep.

They told me that he means death when talking about sleep…He also uses woods or forests a lot…and snow. Nothing is colder in temperament to me than a freezing pine forest on an overcast day. I can easily equate a life of hard times and wanting, needing some peace, but having too much still needing accomplishments to a numbed foot trudge in a snowy vale.

Sometimes I get tired, but I too have miles to go before I sleep…

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

So far, I like all of his poems. Some of them are better than others, and some are still down right shrouded in mystery to me.

About Dennisauthor

Taking you by storm! www.dennisauthor.com @Dennis-Author on twitter

Leave a Reply

